My new favourite photo

A friend re-tweeted this photograph in the early hours of the morning, and had I not been awake due to being unwell I’d probably have missed it. I don’t know who took it, but wish I did. It had instantly jumped to my favourite photograph ever. Not particularly because of it’s technical skill, but on a personal level it really touched my heart.

I have been in and out of hospital throughout my relationship with my husband. Having our children, admitted at Christmas 2 months before our wedding which thankfully turned out only to be a relatively minor thing, but was pretty scary, then cancer and chemotherapy , as well as various admissions for back trouble and then my most recent bypass surgery. Throughout it all, my husband has been there with me. Holding me when I was sad, or couldn’t hold myself up. Protecting me from worry to the best of his ability. Being company and reassurance without a hint of resentment that he may have walked hours in the rain to be at my side in the hospital because of London transport, for me to sleep through the majority of his visit. Looking after our children in a way that I couldn’t at many times throughout their lives.

But among all those things I am grateful to him for is his ability to make me laugh or smile at times I’ve felt like my world was crumbling down. When things got too much he was my light at the end of the tunnel. A constant reminder that life is good and that I have the ability to carry on. His selflessness and love have helped me in ways I could never begin to explain.

This photograph brought everything flooding to the foreground of my mind and I simply couldn’t look at it without picturing my amazing husband, who might not be perfect, but is perfect for me.

Leave a Reply

