Working away my summer

This week I marks the end of my summer break… Yes I know that I’m a student, and I know that a lot of people believe that we get too much time off as it is, but the fact is I worked bloody hard for my holidays, so I appreciate when I get time with my family and friends. I think that it should also be noted that a fair few students work their holidays as well as working while they are studying.  I am lucky enough to have a husband who supports me financially as well as in every other way, but I still work as a student ambassador in order to get some extra cash to help out.

Being a student ambassador has opened up a whole new world to me.  It’s been a great way to ease me back into the world of formal employment without the stress of it.  I’m able to world for multiple departments within my uni at the same time doing jobs such as teaching summer schools, working open days and call centre work.  Today I start work calling students to offer resit support, from 10am-8pm.  That might not sound like a big deal, but it is for a mother of two who’s children are on school holidays giving me the ‘Puss in Boots’ eyes at hearing I’d not see them until bedtime 😦

Leave a Reply

