Only an Aunt… What has made me happy? – Link up

Only an Aunt

This weeks post is a very personal one for me, so please bare with me.  I’ve had many things make me happy this week, and for that I am grateful. However something that I need to mention and make a point of saying is how happy it makes me to see my sister with my children.  In particularly Penny right now.

She has always been a huge part of my children’s lives, and when we discovered that we were pregnant together last year (only 4 months apart) I was ecstatic for her and her partner. I knew she would make a fantastic mother, because I’d seen it in her since she first met my eldest daughter over 14 years ago.  Everything seemed to be going great. My sister was going to be at my home birth and our little ones would grow up together.  Sadly that wasn’t to be and baby Paul went to heaven on the 12th September 2014, just 3 weeks before my Penny was born at home.  Even though her heart was clearly breaking, my sister came to meet her new niece and on the weekend her baby had been due, she and her partner stood up and vowed to be Godparents to our little girl, while secretly carrying a secret little bundle of joy.  As the weeks passed, we dared to dream of a future of being new mummies together again, and although baby Paul was and will never be forgotten, there was a light in my sister’s eyes again.  Sadly  again, on the 19th March, baby Scarlet joined her brother in heaven, this time my sister almost joined them.  I can’t go into the details as it is far too upsetting for me to talk about, but I am thankful every single day that my strong, beautiful, loving sister made it through physically and has never allowed her obvious heartache to affect how she loves my children with her whole heart.

I have no doubt in my heart that my sister will one day experience the total joy of having a living child of her own. She is a mother already, a mother of angels, but also a mother figure to my children.  I know that she truly loves every single one of my children as much as I do and for that I really can not verbalise how thankful I am for that.

So what has made me happy this week?  Seeing my beautiful sister, run through a water fountain with Penny with not a care about getting wet, or looking silly, knowing that next week is her angel son Paul’s birthday.  That she is able to find joy in my children and the things that they do makes me so very very very happy.

amy2 amy

Amy, I love you more than I could ever tell you, and am grateful for your strength and courage. My children are very very lucky to have you as their Auntie too x

Em...x

Post-Divider-Template-COPY3

 You too can link up with Helpful Mum here

You're not from round here
53 thoughts on “Only an Aunt… What has made me happy? – Link up

  1. Jessie says:

    Awww Hun this is such a lovely post. I can not begin to imagine what Amy is going through. She is incredibly strong. I hope she gets to experience the joy of having a living child soon. X

    Like

  2. TheLondonMum says:

    Oh my gosh, life can be so unfair at times. But your sisters love and willing to get up and be the best aunt ever just shows what a great mum she’ll be when it happens for her. Fingers crossed for them. xx

    Like

  3. Hello Beautiful Bear says:

    This post has brought me to tears, your love and care for your sister shines through and is truly wonderful and she is clearly an extremely brave lady. I am so so sorry that she has had to experience such terrible pain like this but it is lovely to hear how much she loves your children, how strong and how admirable! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. mandipimental says:

    Crying over this post and am so sorry for your sisters losses. I know what its like to fiercly love your niece (or nephew) as my sister is a mother and I lost my pregnancy last Christmas. Hoping one day to be blessed with another of my own, but in the mean time praying for Gods strength to be strong and love on the special children that are in my life 🙂

    Like

  5. Louise says:

    Aww, your sister sounds amazing 🙂 I sincerely hope she gets her rainbow baby soon – she so clearly deserves it. Oh, and after reading this I really want a sister!!

    Louise x

    Like

  6. Diana Villa says:

    I am the same way, I love my sister so much I can’t even describe the feeling. I am very sorry for your sister but I think she is very lucky to have an amazing sister as you. Love your post and thanks for sharing! ^_^

    Like

  7. Rebecca Smith says:

    Aww this brought tears to my eyes. Amy is an incredibly strong person and I wish her every happiness and hope she gets to experience the joy of having a child soon.
    It is incredible to see what a bond you have as a family, especially the two of you as sisters. You are both very lucky to have each other and I wish you both all the best xxxxx

    Like

  8. Nadine-Johanna Stewart says:

    Your sister is so lucky to have you, just as much as you are to have her. What a wonderful bond there is between you, I wish I had a similar bond with my sister. We are on non speaking terms. I wish your sister all the best that she can get pregnant soon and give birth to a healthy child. No woman should have to go through this. All the best of luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

