If you ever feel like giving up….

 I love this quote.  As a mother of two daughters, I couldn’t help but be affected when I saw it.  Of course I believe that the quote still resonates with mothers of sons too.  As parents, it is our job to be the adults we want our children to aspire to be.  It’s something which has been playing on my mind recently, especially as my eldest two are now at the very impressionable teenage stage it has caused me to stop and think about what I am really teaching my children and the example I am setting.

I’ve never been one for partying and going out much. I don’t smoke, I don’t drink and I don’t do drugs.  But I do have a problem with money.  I basically rubbish with it.  I suffer with anxiety and depression and one of my symptoms and releases is shopping.  It’s something which I need to address pretty quickly, but I honestly don’t know where to start with it.  That doesn’t mean that I’m not going to try.

Could you try harder? What traits do you want to pass on to your little ones?

46 thoughts on “If you ever feel like giving up….

  1. tracey bowden says:

    I couldn’t agree more I recently went through a bad patch and what pulled me out was that my daughter needed me to be a positive role model. I too am rubbish with money, it burns a hole in my pocket but I am working on it as I want my daughter to be more responsible with money not like me

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Daniella says:

    I would love to pass on my thirst for learning to my children. I have studied since doing my A levels alongside working and have gained some amazing qualifications along the way. I don’t think I’ll ever stop wanting to learn.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Zena's Suitcase says:

    This is a really inspiring quote. Like you I have 2 daughters, and I also have a teenager boy. I want to be a good example to them, and most of all I want them to feel they can be anything they want to be. There is a lesson there for me for sure!

    Like

  4. mummy ms memories says:

    I love this quote and it is so true… I am an everyday scale jumper and my eldest only 5 has picked up on this… after a few discussions when I had not noticed her watching, I now don’t do it… it is scary how much they want to be just like us, and don’t see our imperfections!

    Like

  5. Astrid says:

    Thanks for this candid post. I don’t smoke, drink or do drugs either, but I have a problem with food (possible binge eating disorder, in fact). I also have borderline personality disorder. If I ever have a child, I’ll need to make sure I work on these problems or I’ll not be able to nurture my hypothetical child the way I’d want to.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hello Beautiful Bear says:

    I’m bad with money too, for more or less the same reason! My baby girl is still so young but I am conscious of this and know there’s things I need to get my head around if I’m going to be the best example to her that I can be. I live the beautiful quote at the beginning, great post, thank you got sharing xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Renna says:

    Very true quote, and also quite scary. I find it really hard to act the perfect person infront of the kids, as it’s not me. No one perfect, but, we need to watch what we say and what we do all the time, as little ears and eyes hear and see everything!!

    Like

  8. Daniella says:

    I was having a similar conversation with my husband on Friday, our teenager has had a bit of boy trouble and I just happened to mention that I hope our son treats women how he would expect me and his sister to be treated as that’s how he will be brought up.

    Like

  9. Ickle Pickle says:

    Aawww – this is a lovely quote – my little girls are 19 and nearly 16! I also have two sons who are 3 and nearly 3. I know I have done the very best I can when my daughters name me as their role model in school 😀 Kaz x

    Like

Leave a Reply

