New Books to help get me out and about in London

As a Londoner born and bred, you would assume that I’ve seen a fair bit of the city I grew up in.  I have seen quite a lot.  Well I thought I had.  Until I thumbed through these two books which I came across while reading a blog and thought I’d give them ago. I’m not a big reader either, so you won’t find many book reviews on my blog.
IMG_5466

The first is by Tom Jones and is called “Tired of London, Tired of Life”.  This actually started off as a blog which can be found here, however the author has now moved on to explore Britain as a much larger project thanks to the success of his books.  For regular updates you can find him here at Tom’s Britain. I have also purchased Tom’s third book “London, The Weekends Start Here: Fifty-two Weekends of Things to See and Do”, however I have loaned this to my friend Jess over at Fat Bottom Gal so hopefully we will see some exploring from a fellow Londoner looking for inspiration.

This book is appealed to me visually as it’s laid out in such a way that makes it incredibly easy to jump in and out.  The activities are sorted into seasonal suitability too, so it makes it easy to find the month you are interested in and find something to do.  I am looking forward to trying a lot of these suggestions and hopefully falling in love with London again.

The second book I bought is more child focussed.  It is by Kate Hodges & Sunshine Jackson. This book started Life as a weekly email newsletter called the “Hopscotch Newsletter“.  The authors are both mothers and keen to share affordable days out for parents.  Look out for what I hope are some fun days out with my children in the months to come 🙂 Of course I have also signed up for the newsletter myself and if you’re a parent in London I would recommend you check it out yourself too!

Em...x

Disclosure- I purchased these books myself and all views expressed are my own.

36 thoughts on “New Books to help get me out and about in London

  1. Tori Gabriel says:

    No matter how long you live in a place there is always something new to discover. I had a friend visit last week from out of town and we ended up doing things I’ve never done in my home town. It was great seeing the place through new eyes.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. charlotte says:

    I need to get little London before we plan our next visit. I used to live in London but that was long before children and I am always at a loss for child friendly things to do. xx

    Like

  3. Ickle Pickle says:

    I love London – such a great city, these books look brilliant – as a country girl it is hard to navigate London easily, especially with children. Kaz x

    Like

Leave a Reply

