Dropping the plates

balancing quote

Have you ever felt overwhelmed with everything you have to do? This time of year it is really easy to get caught  up with everything you need to squeeze into your day.  Sometimes you need to put everything down and realign your priorities.

I’ve been feeling bogged down recently.  Over the past few months I have been enjoying writing my blog so much that my business took a back seat. When I was throwing myself into my work, my blog started to suffer.  Add a family and everyday chores etc and I was doing everything, but not doing it well.  I decided to write down my priorities so that I had them written in front of me.

Kids Fed/Clean/School work/Happy
Husband Fed/Happy
Family/Friends Physical contact/Phone calls/Show them you think of them
Home Clean/Mended/Comfortable
Business Advertising/Editing/Photoshoots/Networking/Maintenance 
Blog Planning/Images/Writing/Promotion
Photography Plan/Continue my projects/Photograph for Fun again

Even seeing your priorities written down, it can still be difficult to place them in order but it is often clear to see where things have been going wrong.  If one aspect is holding too much weight it will tip the balance and everything falls to the ground.  Imagine each of your priorities is a plate on a stick.  You are managing to keep all of the plates spinning quite well.  Then you put something (let’s say a potato) onto one of the plates. And then another, and then another.  What do you see happening? Will you drop the plate of potatoes? or will you focus so much on that one plate that the others wobble and fall?

I’m not going to tell you a list of things you need to do to get the best work/life balance. Sorry.  I wish there were a magic formula.  The fact is that only you know how much weight each your priorities holds to you and your family.  Only you know which plates you can set down for a while.

spinning plates

Writing this list has really shed light on a few things for me.  My blog has been taking up a huge amount of my time and focus, but other areas have definitely struggled too.  A new routine is in order I think.  I am also going to keep a list of my priorities visible, so that I can check back regularly to make sure I’m as balanced as I can be though.

I am hoping to get ahead with the blog and to schedule as much as possible, but that’s proving harder than I thought at the moment with the added Christmas activities and wanting to spend as much time with my children and husband as I can.  I’m sure I’ll get there.  I’m a mum after all, and that’s what we do right?  So my house isn’t spotless, and my laundry/ironing piles are too high, but my children are fed and happy and that’s what matters most right now.

Em...x

I’m looking for some guest blog writers at the moment, especially to help while I’m trying to find my feet properly.  If you think you have a post that would fit in well here at The Mummy Balancing Act, then please get in touch.

 

40 thoughts on “Dropping the plates

  1. becky says:

    I recently got very overwhelmed with it all and after taking a couple of weeks away form the blog and relaxing about it all, I put together a workable blog routine and so far its all been manageable. I hope you find something that works for you soon:)

    Like

  2. Sarah Bailey says:

    I always try and do everything at once as I don’t always feel well enough to do things, which is bad as it makes me feel unwell and then the cycle begins again. We always seem to put so much pressure on ourselves. x

    Like

  3. Fuss Free Helen says:

    I love David Allen. My tips for managing are a very robust to do list system – that does not use your brain to remember stuff, and to mono, rather than multi task.

    Like

  4. Working Mum Blog says:

    I can relate! I feel like I am playing catch up every day. I like the overview list you’ve shared, perhaps I’ll create one to see where I am going wrong. x

    Like

  5. Tanya Brannan says:

    Fantastic post! I have to write everything down, or I forget it all. I love to blog, but find it does take a bit of a priority in my life right now. I perhaps need to look at balancing things a bit better x

    Like

  6. serenityyou says:

    this hit a nerve for me, as I too have been spending too much time on my blog recently and neglecting the household chores. my house is starting to look like a pig sty

    Like

  7. Jenni - Odd Socks and Lollipops says:

    It really is so hard at times to find that right balance, I know I am still searching for it. I just keep trying different routines and times and hope that sometime in the not too distant future I hit the right combination!

    Like

  8. Renna says:

    I feel like this every week, where everything just seems to pile up and you don’t know what to do first. However, kids always come first.I only ever blog when they are at school, and every day I do housework… Because it’s a continuous battle.
    My daughter said to me why haven’t I bought any biscuits lately, and I have to keep saying, because they are not a priority!!!! Lol….
    I just do my best to get done what absolutely needs to get done, and the rest can wait.
    I love 9pm, as that’s my And Relax moment of the day.

    Like

  9. bericebaby says:

    I wish I was superwoman! Like all the time – I can barely get out of bed in the morning!
    Organisation is the key! BUT Being organised enough to make the lists is another story.
    Great post hun
    Charlotte x

    Liked by 1 person

  10. JoanneDewberry says:

    I feel your pain! I sometimes find though if I give myself specific tasks daily to under take they are achieved whereas if I get overwhelmed I do nothing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

