How becoming a parent has changed the holidays for me! #12daysofparenting #Day3

3rdday

Thanks for hopping over from The Mad House of Cats and Babies and welcome to my post for the 3rd Day of #12daysofparenting. Full details of the event and it’s giveaways can be found on the 12DAYSPAGE and all entries to be completed via the Rafflecopter at the bottom of this post.

Christmas has always been a family, child focussed event in our household.  Until the age of 11 I was the eldest of 3, and then my parents delivered a new baby to the household so there was always a small person seeing Christmas through the eyes of a child really makes it mean something special.

My parents were never really the type of people to go to adult parties, so we spent most of the holidays visiting family (who also had children).  Christmas morning was always focussed on us opening gifts and mum and dad cooking dinner.

christmas-791142_1920

I was 19 when I had my first Christmas with my baby, so I seemed to seamlessly slip into my mother’s roll. My partner had also come from a family where Christmas was a child orientated affair which made things simpler. I had no interest in leaving my children with babysitters so I’m glad that I was never asked to defend my choice to focus on them. My partner’s family attend mass on Christmas eve, so we now attend with them, only in our own parish these days.

The main difference that becoming a parent has had on my holidays is that we spend a lot of it visiting either my parents or my partners. I also have to plan in advance such as shopping and gift buying, but all in all, not much had changed.

A few years ago we made the decision to spend Christmas day in our own home as the Children could be in their own environment, much like my childhood. Since Penny is about to celebrate her second Christmas we are still very much child centred and I love it! Elf on the shelf /crafts /cooking /days out / Santa visits and more.

christmas-1046068_1920

Perhaps one day we will try the glam Christmas party scene, but for now I am happy to wear cheesy hats and party dances with the kids 🙂

Em...x

Today’s code word is: Velcro

Images courtesy of https://pixabay.com

For more 3rd day fun please pop over to Picking Up Toys where you can gain further entries into the grand prize draw. Full terms and conditions can be found on this website. UK residents only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway
https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

27 thoughts on “How becoming a parent has changed the holidays for me! #12daysofparenting #Day3

  1. Pingback: How having kids changed my Christmas |
  2. Stressed Mum says:

    Christmas is all about children to me, I have always had one night out at christmas with my husband and friends, this is where we exchange presents for the children and christmas cards, and my parents always had our daughter. This year it is this weekend coming and our daughter is staying at my inlaws as she is going on her annual trip out with Nanny, her aunt and cousin on Sunday. We always spend christmas day at home and my inlaws come to us so my daughter gets to be at home with both sets of grandparents there

    Liked by 1 person

  3. TheLondonMum says:

    I think it’s totally about the children. I love that it’s an excitement that runs through the house and we all feed off the kids around. I think it’s a shame when it descends into something that doesn’t focus on them. x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jacqui Brough says:

    I loved nothing more than spending Christmas at home with my family, and then spending the evening doing the family rounds. I think it’s a perfect way of showing children that christmas means family!

    Like

  5. Working Mum Blog says:

    My son was only two months last Christmas so this year will officially be our first Child focused Christmas. I can’t wait! Hope you enjoy your time with your family. xx

    Like

  6. Ickle Pickle (@IcklePicklex) says:

    I never have had a Christmas with the parties you see on the TV! I am self employed so have no ‘works do’ and with children aged 19 – 3 years old have had family Christmas’s for years – and will have until I am a Nan (hopefully!) I love it – Christmas is all about children 🙂 Kaz x

    Liked by 1 person

  7. leeshastarr says:

    I can’t wait to have children and have my ‘ideal’ Christmas. We always spend it just mum and I and sometimes visit family, but very rarely. So I’d love to have a big family Christmas

    Like

Leave a Reply

